Philip McCulloch-Downs – Sagra del Seitan 2018 XI Edizione – BIG ART INTERNATIONAL


Philip McCulloch-Downs – Sagra del Seitan 2018 XI Edizione – BIG ART INTERNATIONAL


When we are talking BIG art, We are talking art  beamed onto a massive screen creating an immersive multimedia experience, exposing the 6,000+  attendees to the hidden victims of animal agriculture.
The BIG art show featured many Philip McCulloch-Downs’ incredibly detailed and moving pieces,  two of the many pieces that were in the show are pictured in the above –  ‘The forgotten’ and ‘Motherhood’.

The event was extremely visually engaging centered by the immersive multimedia event called “Made for the Animals 2.0”, with works by many vegan artists as well as Philip who  give voice to the animal debate.

The themes  of veganism and anti-speciesism were also supported by a rich cultural program packed with conferences and meetings.

When talking of the piece “the forgotten” Philip expressed “That one little life is now going to be alive and visible forever.  I’m so made up by this – it’s very moving.”

The Sagra del Seitan 2018 XI Edizione Vegan Festival ran in Florence, Italy Saturday September 22 and 23, at the OBI Hall in Florence.

In addition to the Sagra del Seitan, Philips schedule just gets busier and busier, He has been involved in the The Art of Compassion Project appearing in Beijing, Dublin,  Luxembourg and Florence!

Here is a look at The Art of Compassion Team at the International Animal Rights Conference in Luxembourg 6th – 9th September 2018.

Further information on the Art of Compassion:

For World Farmed Animal Day, Philip and Queen V seamlessly combined their creative work in the video for “What Hell Is like”. A day to feel proud to be associated with the activists of the world:

Those who speak up for the voiceless, against the vast, brutal farming corporations of the world.

Those who reveal hidden truths, to begin to change the majority opinion that meat and or dairy are essential to human life.

Those who do whatever they can to be compassionate – to all life, human and non-human.

“What hell is like” courtesy of Queen V

We look forward to the up and coming event the Liberation Arts Festival!. The hardest thing in Philip’s schedule is to keep up with his schedule.

Phillip is open for Commission work, or to find out more about his portfolio , projects and events please feel free to contact him directly through his facebook or merchandise link detailed below :

Artists Merchandise

Artists Statement:

What does Animal Liberation mean to you? Educating the younger generation. Giving them the necessary facts and figures, as well as the encouragement, to help them realise that they can so easily change this world if they choose to, and thereby help us ALL evolve out of our current state of inertia and ignorance.
My personal part in the Animal Liberation Movement means connecting and empathising with the creatures that I paint, treating them with a dignity that they are denied by our farmers. I try to bear witness to their character, their suffering and their individuality, and by removing any barriers between ‘us’ and ‘them’ allow viewers to feel an empathy, which will hopefully lead to an understanding that changes hearts and minds.

DISCLAIMER: Links to information on sites other than those operated by FISHINABOX RECORDS are for your convenience only and are not an endorsement or recommendation of those sites. FISHINABOX RECORDS does not control or provide any content or information at these sites, makes no representation or warranty of any kind with respect to these sites or their content, and does not maintain, operate, or take responsibility for information provided. FISHINABOX RECORDS does not endorse and is not responsible for the accuracy or reliability of such content or information and any use thereof is solely at the user’s risk.


CAROL HODGE – Hold on to that Flame – New Release – PUNK BALLAD URBAN SOLO ALBUM


CAROL HODGE – Hold on to that Flame – New Release – PUNK BALLAD URBAN SOLO ALBUM

Punk Ballad Urban Vocal crafter and pianist Carol His back on the Manchester music scene with a new punk power ballad album of strong tracks that has taken reflection and time in the making.

She is constantly on projects, so whats new ? (Carol Hodge is a well known face on the Manchester music scene, performing solo as singer/pianist Crystal Grenade. She is also backing vocalist and pianist for Steve Ignorant’s Slice of Life, and provided female vocals on CRASS songs for The Last Supper tour)

This time it’s her Solo work.

Fishinabox have followed the journey with interest from the first writings for this solo album which started to form into songs from as far back as 2015, at a time when Carol penned, wrote and voiced the powerful lyrics on “The Power of Willful Ignorance”for one of our own ethics and animal rights projects.

Not having seen a major focus on her Solo career back in 2012/2013 we wanted more; but so did the music scene, the collaborations, other bands and artists and as a result, “Hold on to that flame” has taken time to get to general release.

This Album culminates the many aspects of her work succinctly, mixing and story to sweeten the bitter pill of daily life  issues. and frankly is the one to buy.

Tracks like “Stop the world in it’s tracks, and “First world problems” are easy to identify with, and there are the welcome inclusions of some older material “The witch is dead and “Weather the storm”

Carol’s songwriting talents over the last 15 years always seem to be caught up primarily in other artists projects (including ours…… Mea Culpa) which have all benefited greatly from her extensive talent and a writer performer and her keen understanding of social issues that she often puts at the heart of her work.

Carol brings a strong classical element to all work that she touches and provides accessible depth to core lifestyle challenges and at times along with satirical lyrics exposing the globalization “dream” for the nightmare it represents ethically and morally.

Carol’s move to set up her own record label as well as focus on her solo career is a sound and welcome step. There is some bleakness, but not broken, some melancholy, but not darkness, in her work and being the relentless optimist that she is, there is always light that shines through the cracks so to speak, the work here enlightens.

Our advice from Fishinabox – pick up the album, as far as the Carol Hodge story goes to date it is the chance finally get the album , “buy the T-shirt” and open your ears to a song writer who captivates, yet remains, a soulful realist.

in Carols words -“Don’t be so selfish , Don’t be introspective , and broaden your mind to the global perspective”

Track List:

  1. Stop The World In Its Tracks 04:36
  2. No Holds Barred 03:03
  3. You Don’t Dream Enough 04:17
  4. First World Problems 03:58
  5. Your Heart Is Breaking 03:59
  6. Fallibility 03:50
  7. Weather The Storm 04:36
  8. Bullet In The Moonlight 04:08
  9. The Witch Is Dead 03:20
  10. Undone 04:04
  11. Bear With Me 04:13

Pick up the Album here –


CAROL HODGE – Other links: